Gazpacho

One of the best foods for summer: simple, fresh, and convenient. I proudly tout that half of the ingredients in this recipe came from my garden.

In a blender add:
3 medium cucumbers, peeled, deseeded, and roughly chopped
1 large  green pepper, deseeded and chopped
1 garlic clove
leaves from 1-2 sprigs of fresh mint
1/2 jalapeno, deseeded
juice from one lime
zest of one lemon

Grind together, salt and pepper to taste. Chill for two or more hours, and serve with sour cream or plain greek yogurt, if you so desire.

I also have an overabundance of basil, so I’ve been making pesto like crazy, and thus trying to find ways to use it- although I have no qualms of eating is straight.
I use this basic pesto recipe, and despite my abhorrence for instructions, I follow this one to a T, yielding great results.
This pasta salad consists of:
fusilli noodles
pesto
cherry tomatoes
artichoke hearts
roasted red and yellow peppers
In whatever proportions you desire.

Leave a Reply

