Spring Cupcakes

Nothing is more portable than a tiny frosted cake.

I’m not a great baker, so this was one of the first times my homemade cupcakes turned out moist and spongy. It was all because of the sour cream! Also, this is my own original recipe, which I’m proud of – it’s rare I can get something of my own to bake well.

What you’ll need:

[yields 12 cupcakes]

1 Cup Flour

1/2 Cup Powdered Sugar [you need this to substitute for cake flour]

1/4 Cup Cocoa Powder

1/2 Ts Baking Powder

1/2 Ts Baking Soda

1/4 Ts Salt

1/4 Cup Agave

1/4 Cup Butter

2 Eggs

1/4 Cup Sour Cream

1 Ts Vanilla

1/3 Almond Milk

1/2 Cup Melted Dark Chocolate

to decorate:

Icing – divided four ways

Red, Green, and Blue food coloring

White decorative icing

Sprinkles

Mix all the dry ingredients together. Melt the dark chocolate in a double boiler or in the microwave. In another bowl beat the eggs, butter, agave, milk and sour cream. Stir in the melted chocolate to the wet. Pour the wet mixture into the dry. Stir lightly with a spatula.

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Fill a 12 cupcake pan with liners and batter – about 1/2 way full. Bake for 16-18 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.

While they’re in the oven – make your frosting options. For spring I made some bright spring colors: blue, pink, purple and green. Now I didn’t make the icing, because I actually hate the taste of homemade icing, but there are so many great recipes out there. I used store bought which I know is an abomination but I just love the grainy sugary taste.

I use a plate to divide the colors and knifes to spread – this way it’s very easy to clean up. I also try to use a very small amount since I don’t need that much.

Take out your cupcakes, cool. Then spread your icing and use the decorative white and sprinkles to add embellishments.

Leave a Reply

