Roasted Fennel and Asiago Basil Orzo

Fennel bulb is my new favorite. I’ve never eaten it before, and I am sad that it hasn’t entered my life earlier.

For plain roasted fennel, heat oven to 400 degrees.
Cut off the stalks of one fennel bulb and cut into 1 1/2 thick wedges.
Lay foil on a baking sheet and lay wedges on top. Drizzle with 2 tbsp olive oil and spread to coat.
Season with salt and pepper.
Bake for 40 minutes.

For this meal I also roasted some chicken along with my fennel, marinated in olive oil, salt and pepper, and thyme. I covered it with foil, so it didn’t dry out.
Here is the recipe for the orzo that I also made, which can be made while the fennel is baking.

Melt 2 tbsp butter in a medium-sized pot on medium-high heat
Add in 1 cup orzo and brown for 3 minutes
Next, add 1 2/3 cup chicken broth and bring to a boil.
Reduce heat and cover with a lid.
Chop two roma tomatoes and add to the pot.
After 15 minutes, when the liquid has been absorbed, add:
1/2 cup chopped basil leaves
1/4 tsp thyme
2/3 cup grated asiago cheese
Mix well.

Leave a Reply

