Stef’s Last Meal: Mac and Cheese

So this is my last meal. This also doubled as my birthday meal so why not do your last meal when you’re celebrating? Mac and Cheese is a comfort meal for me, as I can imagine it is for a lot of people. But if I could only have it one last time – I’d have this version, chicken and all. And maybe some bacon.

I don’t eat a lot of chicken, but this was a really nice touch. Michael Symon has been making this dish at Lola for the last 13 years… and I’m glad he’s shared the recipe before he takes it off the menu. It is one of the richest mac and cheese’s I’ve ever had and exactly what I would want out of my last meal.

1 Box Rigatoni

2 Cups Heavy Cream

1 Tablespoon Rosemary, to taste

Chicken, roasted or tenders, precooked

1/2 Cup Goat Cheese

It was real easy to make.

Bring the cream and rosemary to a boil. Let reduce to half. Add the precooked roasted chicken or chicken tenders [which I cooked in a slow cooker for 30 minutes in wine] and coat it all in the cream, stirring and continue to let thicken.

Cook the noodles for 10 minutes in a separate pot. Once done, drain and pour into the cream/chicken/rosemary mixture. Add the goat cheese and stir to evenly melt everything.

Serve.

To top off my last meal, I made chocolate fondants and a nice sour pitcher of homemade lemonade.

Leave a Reply

