Rach’s Last Meal: Paella

For this month’s challenge, I am going to try to recreate one of my favorite meals of all time. It might not be my real choice as a last meal (let’s face it, if I could really have my way, someone else would be cooking that paella for me on at a beach-front restaurant in Spain), but it’s as close as I can get.

I used Jamie Oliver’s recipe for this, since I can’t read Spanish and I trust him. It’s probably not authentic (sorry Caitlin), but it really did remind me of lazy days in Barcelona.

So here’s the recipe I used:

• olive oil
• 2 raw chorizo sausages (approximately 250g in total), thickly sliced
• 300g pork belly, skin removed, the best quality you can afford, cut into 1cm pieces
• 1 green pepper, deseeded and roughly chopped
• 1 red pepper, deseeded and roughly chopped
• 5 cloves of garlic, peeled and roughly chopped
• 1 onion, peeled and roughly chopped
• a small bunch of fresh flat-leaf parsley, leaves
picked and roughly chopped, stalks finely chopped
• sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
• a good pinch of saffron
• 400g clams or mussels, scrubbed clean and debearded
• 300g paella rice
• 200g jarred red peppers in oil, drained and torn into pieces
• 1 x 400g tin of chopped tomatoes
• 1 litre chicken or vegetable stock, preferably organic
• 12 large prawns, shells on
• 150g squid, cleaned and finely sliced
• 150g green beans, sliced very thinly at an angle
• 1 lemon, cut into wedges

I couldn’t find paella rice, so I used risotto rice which I think gave the whole thing a really nice consistency. Putting everything together is actually really easy, and the only time consuming part is standing over the pot stirring it for 30 minutes. Which, to be honest, is TOTALLY WORTH IT.

Paella, you win.

By the way, to round out this Last Meal, I would like to add some imaginary Albarino wine and a decadent chocolate cake covered in ganache. Also, chorizo cooked in red wine, marinated olives and fresh bread for a starter.

Leave a Reply

