Chocolate Fondant

This little chocolate cake fondant [or melting cake] is something I’ve never had or made before. It is so delicious, I had to freeze the extras so I wouldn’t eat them all in one day. You can top them with fruit which I will do next time.

I found a recipe, and did a few altercations. I used whole wheat flour instead of white, and would have liked to use another kind of sugar, but I didn’t see how agave would have substituted so I used organic cane sugar instead, and I used smart balance instead of butter. Confused? Just use whatever you normally use.

Recipe:

8 Tablespoons Butter/Smart B

2 Eggs

2 Egg Yolks

4 oz. Chocolate pieces [I used Ghirardelli 70% cocoa chips]

2/3 Cup Sugar

2/3 Cup Flour

4 Teaspoon Cocoa Powder, more for dusting

Keep dry and wet separate.

What to do:

1. On a double boiler, or metal bowl over simmering water, melt the butter and chocolate pieces.

2. Whisk together the eggs, egg yolk and sugar in another bowl.

3. Let the melted chocolate cool for 10 minutes, and then whisk in with the egg mixture.

4. Preheat oven to 325 and coat four ramekins with butter and dust with cocoa powder.

5. Sift the flour and cocoa powder over the chocolate mixture and fold in with a spoon or spatula.

6. Divide batter between four ramekins and bake for 12 minutes. It will look uncooked when done, but take out, let rest for a bit and then eat when warm.

I made the mistake of not waiting long enough to turn it out, even though the recipe I used told me to do it immediately. And it was not ready, so I lost one [the picture above on the right]. Instead, I just ate it out of the ramekin. It was amazing, no need to plate it any other way. The crust is cake-like around the edges and the inside is like a melting rich chocolate pudding.

One response to “Chocolate Fondant

  1. Pingback: Stef’s Last Meal: Mac and Cheese « thechocolatecliche·

Leave a Reply

