Beet, Turkey, Arugula Salad

After hearing a considerable number of claims concerning the taste of roasted beets from Stefanie, I thought I’d try it out myself. But, I wanted more than to eat just a beet. I’m not saying that in itself isn’t good. I tried it and agree, but I’m responsible for dinner most nights at my house; so, I needed a meal not a snack. I looked up some various beet salad recipes online and tweaked them until I came up with this one.

To roast the beats, preheat oven to 400 degrees. Remove the leaves from 2 bunches of beets (about 6 beets total), scrub well, and remove any stringy roots. I read that if you leave the tops on, it can help prevent bleeding during roasting. So, I tested out this theory, but this also being my first roasting of the beets, I had no standard to measure against.
Coat beets with oil and cook about 1 1/2 hours. They will be tender when poked.

While the beets are roasting, thoroughly wash the leaves from the two beet bunches and remove the thicker stalks from the leaves. Roughly chop leaves.
Heat 2 tbsp oil in a large skillet on medium heat. Add:
1 medium red onion, thinly sliced
Saute for 5 minutes. Add:
chopped beet leaves
2 cups pre-cooked turkey (I used meat from turkey legs*).
Cook for 3-4 minutes more, until the leaves are wilted. Remove from heat and add:
1 tbsp chopped fresh tarragon leaves
1-1 1/2 tsp cracked peppercorns
This mixture will make about 4-5 servings.

When beets are cooked, remove from oven and let stand 5-10 minutes. Trim off tops and bottoms and cut into thin wedges. Layer the following on each plate:
1 handful of arugula
2-3 spoonfuls of the onion, turkey, beet leaves mixture
one sliced beet
1/2 tangerine
sprinkle on bleu cheese/goat cheese/ a combination of both
a sprinkle of more fresh chopped tarragon

*Turkey leg meat proved very difficult to remove from bone. If there is any other turkey meat available- that isn’t deli style- I suggest using it. Other options are to skip it altogether or use garbanzo beans as a protein.

Leave a Reply

