Plum Soup and Eggs Benedict Brunch

I recently read Alicia Silverstone’s The Kind Diet, which is awesome for plant based/vegan lifestyle ideas and recipes. One recipe in particular which caught my eye was her Plum Soup. I thought it would pair nice with something savory for breakfast… so here comes my plum soup and eggs veggie benedict brunch.

You’ve got three main components. The soup, the poached eggs, and the hollandaise. I’ve only made hollandaise once and it was not my greatest experiment. This time was better, but it was still a little thick. I was too hungry to thin it down to eat, so I just dealt with it. And I’d never poached an egg before, but I was very pleased with the result… So easy once you know how to do it. And of course, delicious.

The Soup

1 Cup Juice [apple, orange, whatever]

I cinnamon stick

1 1/2 Tablespoons Agave

4 Big Plums or 8 Small, peeled and halfed

Pinch of salt

1 Tablespoon of currants [they’re tiny raisin-like dried fruits]

In a pot, combine the cinnamon stick, salt, juice and currants. Bring to a medium heat boil for 10 minutes. I peeled and cut the plums while that was happening. Add the plums and bring to a boil. Let simmer for 20 minutes. During this time, the plums should break down slightly and thicken the broth. Towards the end, I aided the breakdown my mashing some of the pieces while it was simmering.

After the 20 minutes, remove the cinnamon stick add the agave and stir for around a minute. Let cool, but serve hot. It’s a lovely not-too-sweet little dish.

The Sandwich

I poached the egg first and then made the sauce. To poach an egg, follow these instructions. The pictures and narrative is really helpful.

For the hollandaise, I used a simple recipe of egg yolk, lemon juice, butter [smart balance in my case], salt and cayenne pepper.

2 egg yolks

1/2 tablespoon lemon juice [it cuts through the fat] do not skip this part of the recipe. Use some kind of acid.

1/4 cup of butter, melted

pinch of salt and pinch of cayenne pepper

1. On the stove, simmer a small pot of water. You want the metal bowl you whisk the eggs in to not touch the water underneath.

2. Whisk the egg yolk in a metal bowl. Add the lemon juice. Whisk until doubled in size.

3. Keep whisking, and place the bowl on top of the simmering water. Keep whisking, and make sure the water isn’t too hot, because you don’t want to scramble the eggs.

4. Slowly add the butter. Whisk until thickened and doubled in size. You can keep eye on the thickness, because once you take it off the heat, it will jello… so be careful. I even added a little hot water to mine before I served it, but it was still too thick.

5. Whisk in the salt and cayenne. Serve.

This recipe is for a half of the original. I never use all of it. And it doesn’t keep well.

Leave a Reply

