Double the Wheat, Double the Flavor

Review from Dad "This is the best crust ever."

Seven months ago, I was in Korea looking to make tabouli. All the ingredients were accessible with the exception of bulgar wheat; even the foreign food mart owners were hard pressed to give me an answer as to whether they stocked it, taking it to mean they had no idea what I was talking about. So, where does anyone in this day and age go when unable to buy something at a store? Amazon.com. I ended up knee-deep in bulgar wheat, 12 lbs to be exact- think 4 month old baby- imaging I would make myself delirious on all the tabouli I could consume.

Well time- and other distractions- got the best of me, so I finished my year in Korea with 9/10ths of what I started with. I was reluctant to throw it away/give it away (knowing it still wouldn’t get used). So, my best guess for it’s future demanded I ship it back to America. California to Texas to Korea and back again; this is a seriously well-traveled wheat product.

Now back in my possession after its month-long journey, I’m again saddled with the task of coming up with ways to use it. I’ve come to realize that dedicating it only to tabouli would be foolish.

This recipe is based off a whole wheat pie crust recipe in my favored Joy of Cooking cookbook. This recipe will make one 9-10 inch double pie crust (bottom and top).
Soak 1/4 cup #2 bulgar wheat or other small-sized cracked wheat in 1/2 cup water for an hour. Mix the grains occasionally so they absorb water evenly.
Sift together:
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
Add:
1 stick cold unsalted butter
2 tbsp vegetable oil
Add half the butter and oil and work into the dough with pastry blender or the tips of your fingers (I did fingers, it was fun) until evenly blended. Repeat with the other half of the butter and oil, but using a fork. Should be smooth but sticks together in clumps.
Mix one egg yolk to the bulgar wheat (some water will remain). Add mixture to your dough and blend with fork wheat is evenly distributed. It still feels quite sticky. Don’t worry.
Divide into two. Flatten into a disk and cover with plastic wrap. Chill until ready to use.
If using top crust, mix 2 tsp water and one egg and spread over top before baking. Recommended temperature is 400 degrees F.

Beware: because it’s sticky, and heavier, you will need to dust the counter and rolling pin well, and be very careful when transferring to pan. I rolled dough over 3 or 4 times before lifting. I used this for chicken pot pie, but could be good for a plethora of pies- savory and sweet. It’s heavier and heartier than a white flour dough, but still turns out crispy and flaky, and the bulgar gives it a nice crunch.

Leave a Reply

