Homemade Veggie Burger – Mushroom

So if you can believe it, the burger pictured above is made entirely of mushroom. However, this was a total food disaster. I made a mushroom, egg, bread crumb and onion mix in the food processor to create a veggie burger mix to then cook on the stove. I opted to keep the rice out of the recipe so it wouldn’t be over starchy.

In theory, it should have worked. It had the consistency of a raw meat burger. But when I formed a patty and placed it on a nonstick pan, it didn’t cook all the way through, or stick together, or do what it needed to do to get on the plate. It took 20 minutes for it to even resemble edible food. I think it’s because the mushroom released a lot of liquid when cooking.

So with enough batter left, I made two new patties and tried frying them in a metal pan with oil. It was even worse [not pictured]. So next time I might try to bake them in the oven. But even though they looked a little crazy, these 100% meatless mushroom veggie burger tasted delicious, so I salvaged what I could and used it anyway. The mushroom chopped up fine almost has a meaty texture, and you can flavor it any way you like.

For me, this will be an ongoing experiment. I’m hoping to eventually get them to have the same appearance of a store bought veggie burger.

Leave a Reply

