Corn Chowder

So for my soup challenge I’ve made a corn chowder.

I’ve never actually made a chowder before, but I enjoyed doing this. It was very easy. I thought it would be difficult to get the “chowder” aspect, but with the corn meal mixture, it did it for itself.

Corn Chowder

1 Yellow Onion, diced

3 Russet Potatos, diced

1/2 Cup Cream [I used half&half]

4-6 Cups Veggie Broth

2 TB corn meal

2 TB flour

1 2LB Bag of Frozen Corn, drained and patted as dry as possible [It’s out of season, so I would have used fresh, however I’ve heard frozen is just as fresh, so whatever]

salt, pepper, olive oil, lime, cilantro, avocado, cheese [optional]

To Make:

In a pot; saute the onion.

While that is cooking, mix the flour and corn meal together in a bowl. Add a small amount of water to form a doughy mixture. This thickens the chowder once it’s all in the pot.

Once the onions are ready, add to the pot – the potatoes, broth, cream, and corn meal mixture. Boil for about 6-8 minutes to allow the potatoes to soften.

After boiling for that amount of time,  add the corn. Cook on med-high for another 15 minutes at least. I like to let my soups go for a longer amount of time to develop better flavors. You can add spice or other complimentary seasonings too.

Serve. Top with sliced avocado, cilantro, cayenne pepper [optional], and squeeze on some lime.

Leave a Reply

