Agave

I’m not sure if Agave nectar is a hot food item right now with everyone, or just in the organic hippy food community that I’m exposed to the most, but I love it. I heard about it a couple years ago from some friends in Portland, and have used it over honey, table sugar and chemical sweetners ever since. It has a thin texture and consistency and because of its properties, a little goes a long way. It’s 25% sweeter than sugar, but it has a low glycemic index so it doesn’t raise your blood sugar levels the way cane sugar does.

NOTE: It can be expensive. A large bottle from Whole Foods is around 12$. It’s more expensive than using regular sugar, which is why I’m assuming most people opt for the crunchy white crystal.

I add it to tea, coffee, desserts, oatmeal, and veggies. Just make sure if you substitute agave for dry sugar, you take into consideration the difference in volume and consistency. A guide to alternative sweeteners can be found on our Technique page.

Here’s a great agave brownie recipe I found:

Agave Brownies

1/2 cup oil/butter
2/3 cup agave, mixed with
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2/3 cup whole wheat  flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt

Heat oven to 325.  Grease pan.
Melt butter in microwave if using.
Blend all ingredients until smooth.
Pour into pan and bake for 25-30 minutes.
Cool and serve.

I haven’t made them yet, but when I do, I’ll share.

Leave a Reply

