Cilantro Almond Pesto

Cilantro is one of my favorite ingredients. I would eat it with everything if I could. But it usually goes bad in the fridge before I even get to it. However, if you pulse it with almonds and red onion in a food processor you have pesto to last for an entire week. I put this on tacos, pasta or bread. It’s a great alternative to basil and pine nuts, which to me is kind of overrated.

1. Throw whole cilantro, almonds [sliced or whole], and red onion in a  food processor.

I realize some people need exact measurements, but I’ve found this is based entirely on how strong you want your flavors. About two cups of cilantro, 1/4 cup onion, and a handful of almonds is what I used.

2. Pulse. Let everything blend together slowly.

3. I mix olive oil and salt in last. The amount of olive is based on how dry/wet you want it. I like it in between. If it drys out over the week, you can always throw some more in when needed.

Tip: you can also freeze the leftovers in ice cube trays.

Leave a Reply

